Shortlist · Cleaning · 6 models
Cordless stick vacuums for a flat or small house: six that are light enough, and where each one charges
In a flat the vacuum lives in the hall, charges where there is a socket and gets used for ten minutes at a time. That changes what matters: weight before suction, a charger you can stand on the floor before a wall dock, a bin you empty without a dust cloud, and a filter you will actually clean. Six cordless sticks compared on the figures their makers publish — with the run-time claims decoded.



Quick answer
- 2.48kgThe lightest stickHoover HF500 — 2.48 kg, anti-tangle brush, 2.5-hour charge, parks upright.
- 2.6kgCharging without drillingSamsung Jet 75E Pet — a station that stands on the floor or hangs on the wall, 0.8 L washable bin.
- 2.9kgA swappable battery and no filter washingBosch Unlimited 7 — 18 V Power for All pack, RotationClean filter, 82 dB(A), 10-year motor guarantee.
- 3.2kgThe biggest bin and dust-free emptyingHenry Quick — 1 L sealed pods you bin, detachable 25.2 V battery, 60 minutes on low.
- 4.1kgPet hair and stairsShark Stratos — self-cleaning anti-hair-wrap brush, 60 minutes in eco, 5-year guarantee, 4.1 kg.
- 2.54kgThe Dyson habit at the lowest weightDyson V8 Advanced — 2.54 kg, 130 AW in Max, wall dock in the box, 2-year guarantee.
The six at a glance
| Model | Weight | Run time | Charge time | Bin | Charging / storage | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hoover HF500 (HF522STH)for the lightest stick | 2.48 kg | 45 min | 2.5 h | 0.45 L | Wall mount provided; also parks upright | View listing |
| Samsung Jet 75E Petfor charging without drilling | 2.6 kg | 60 min | 3.5 h | 0.8 L | 2-in-1 station: wall mount or stand-alone charger | View listing |
| Bosch Unlimited 7 (BCS711GB)for a swappable battery and no filter washing | 2.9 kg | 40 min | 5 h | 0.3 L† | Docking station; Quick Stand parks it anywhere | View listing |
| Henry Quick (HEN.100)for the biggest bin and dust-free emptying | 3.2 kg | 60 min | 2.5 h | 1 L | Wall dock in the box; battery can charge off the machine | View listing |
| Shark Stratos (IZ400UK)for pet hair and stairs | 4.1 kg | 60 min | 3.5 h | Not stated by Shark† | Not stated on Shark's page; Flexology wand folds for storage† | View listing |
| Dyson V8 Advancedfor the Dyson habit at the lowest weight | 2.54 kg† | 40 min† | 5 h† | No confirmed data | Wall docking station in the box† | View listing |
Scroll sideways to see every column
† Figure from a retailer listing or otherwise awaiting confirmation from the manufacturer; other figures come from manufacturer manuals and leaflets.
Every figure comes from the maker’s own UK page except the Dyson’s, which come from a retailer because Dyson’s site refuses automated visits — those are marked. Run times are the manufacturers’ best case (lowest power, non-motorised tool); see the first question at the end for what they mean in a flat. Bosch’s page contradicts itself on bin size and we quote it as printed.
What the run-time figures mean
Six numbers between 40 and 60 minutes look interchangeable. They are not measuring the same thing. Samsung says 60 minutes on minimum power and 10 to 15 in high; Numatic says 60 minutes low and 16 high; Hoover 45 in Auto, 25 Standard, 10 Turbo; Shark 60 in eco with a non-motorised tool; Bosch 40 with no mode given; Dyson (via a retailer) 40 with a non-motorised tool. Which? tested maximum power and got 7 to 35 minutes.
For a flat this is less alarming than it sounds. A one-bedroom flat is cleaned in a quarter of an hour, and every machine here does a quarter of an hour on its middle setting. What the figures do tell you is which vacuum to buy if you have carpet throughout and want full power for all of it: the ones whose high-power figure is stated (Henry 16, Samsung 10–15, Hoover 10) are being honest, and the ones that only quote eco are not lying, just not saying.
Hoover HF500 — for the lightest stick
for the lightest stick
Hoover HF500 (HF522STH)

- Weight
- 2.48 kg
- Run time
- 45 min
- Charge time
- 2.5 h
- Bin
- 0.45 L
- Charging / storage
- Wall mount provided; also parks upright
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
At 2.48 kg for the cleaner alone this is the lightest machine here, and in a flat that is the number that decides whether the vacuum comes out for a spill or stays in the cupboard until Sunday. It parks upright on its own — Hoover calls it a vertical parking position — and the wall mount is provided rather than required, which matters in a rented hall.
The head has Hoover’s anti-twist brush roll for hair, and there are three modes: Hoover quotes up to 45 minutes in Auto with non-motorised tools, 25 in Standard and 10 in Turbo, from a 22 V battery that charges in 2.5 hours — the joint-fastest charge of the six with the Henry. Motor 290 W, suction 75 air watts by Hoover’s own figure, 107.9 cm tall.
The trade-off is the bin: 0.45 litres, the smallest here, which in practice means emptying after every clean rather than every week. In a small flat with hard floors that is thirty seconds; with a moulting cat on carpet it becomes the routine. Hoover’s page does not state the filter type or the guarantee, so we do not either. One detail for the link: the Amazon listing is variant 011 of the HF522STH; Hoover’s figures are for the 001 — the same machine in a different colour code.
Strengths
- 2.48 kg — the lightest of the six, and it parks upright without the wall mount
- Anti-tangle brush roll and a 2.5-hour charge
- Three modes: 45 min Auto, 25 Standard, 10 Turbo
Limitations
- 0.45 L bin — the smallest here, emptied after every clean
- Hoover's page does not state the filter type or guarantee
- The Amazon listing is variant 011 of the same code
Good for
- a one-bedroom flat
- someone who finds a 3 kg stick heavy
- hard floors with a rug or two
Look elsewhere if
- a whole-house clean in one charge
- a long-haired dog
Samsung Jet 75E Pet — for charging without drilling
for charging without drilling
Samsung Jet 75E Pet

- Weight
- 2.6 kg
- Run time
- 60 min
- Charge time
- 3.5 h
- Bin
- 0.8 L
- Charging / storage
- 2-in-1 station: wall mount or stand-alone charger
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The Samsung answers the renter’s question directly. Its 2-in-1 charging station works as a wall mount or as a stand-alone charger on the floor — Samsung’s own words — so the vacuum has a home without a drill. At 2.6 kg net it is the second-lightest here, and it comes with the pet tool that gives the Pet version its name.
Samsung’s figures: up to 60 minutes on minimum power with a non-motorised tool, 10 to 15 minutes in high power, a 210-minute charge, an 0.8-litre bin that is fully washable, a washable micro filter behind a multi-layered filtration system it rates at 99.999 % (Samsung does not call it HEPA), 200 W of suction power from a 21.6 V battery, and 113 cm tall. It also states the number most makers avoid: 86 dB(A), the loudest declared figure in this group, and Samsung’s own honesty about the high-power run time is worth crediting.
The guarantee is a 10-year parts guarantee on the digital inverter motor — motor only, and excluding labour. Two cautions. The noise matters more in a flat with thin walls and a home office than in a house. And Which?, in its battery-life work, ranks Samsung’s replacement batteries as the most expensive of the brands it compared, so the third-year cost is higher than the others here.
Strengths
- 2-in-1 station: stands on the floor or hangs on the wall — no drilling needed
- 0.8 L washable bin and washable filter
- 10-year parts guarantee on the motor
Limitations
- 86 dB(A) — the loudest stated figure of the six
- 60 minutes is the minimum-power figure; Samsung quotes 10–15 minutes in high power
- Which? ranks Samsung's replacement batteries the dearest
Good for
- renters who cannot drill
- hard floors and a pet
- a two-bedroom flat
Look elsewhere if
- a home office where the vacuum runs during calls
- deep carpet on high power for more than a quarter of an hour
Bosch Unlimited 7 — for a swappable battery and no filter washing
for a swappable battery and no filter washing
Bosch Unlimited 7 (BCS711GB)

- Weight
- 2.9 kg
- Run time
- 40 min
- Charge time
- 5 h
- Bin
- 0.3 L†
- Charging / storage
- Docking station; Quick Stand parks it anywhere
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
Bosch’s pitch is the battery. The Unlimited 7 runs on an exchangeable 18 V, 3.0 Ah pack from the Power for All Alliance — the same battery as Bosch’s cordless drills, hedge trimmers and other brands in the alliance — so a spare bought for the garden doubles the vacuum’s run time, and a dead pack in year four is a component, not a new vacuum. One pack is included.
The rest of the specification is the quietest of the group: 82 dB(A) declared, a lifetime cartridge filter with a Pure Air membrane that Bosch cleans with a RotationClean knob rather than water — no filter drying on the radiator — and a 10-year motor guarantee. Bosch quotes 2.9 kg ready for use with the tube and floor nozzle, 3.6 kg net and 1.4 kg for the handheld unit; 40 minutes maximum run time with no mode stated; a docking station for the machine and its tools, plus a Quick Stand so it parks anywhere; a 90° flexing tube for under furniture; Eco, Auto and Turbo modes; 131.5 cm tall.
Two things to weigh. The charge takes five hours, the longest here, which is why the second battery is the real design. And Bosch’s own page prints the bin as “0.3 l dust container – 0.9 litre usable capacity”, which cannot both be true; we record the conflict and would call it a small bin until Bosch clarifies.
Strengths
- 18 V Power for All battery — swap it, or share it with Bosch tools
- RotationClean filter: no washing, no drying overnight
- 82 dB(A), the quietest stated figure; 10-year motor guarantee
Limitations
- Five hours to charge — the slowest here
- Bosch's own page contradicts itself on bin size (0.3 or 0.9 L)
- 3.6 kg net, though 2.9 kg as used
Good for
- someone who already owns Power for All tools
- a flat where noise matters
- people who will not wash a filter
Look elsewhere if
- back-to-back cleaning without a second battery
- anyone who wants a full charge over lunch
Henry Quick — for the biggest bin and dust-free emptying
for the biggest bin and dust-free emptying
Henry Quick (HEN.100)

- Weight
- 3.2 kg
- Run time
- 60 min
- Charge time
- 2.5 h
- Bin
- 1 L
- Charging / storage
- Wall dock in the box; battery can charge off the machine
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The Henry Quick is Numatic’s cordless stick, and it solves the flat-dweller’s least favourite job differently from everyone else: there is no bin and no filter to wash. Dust goes into a sealed 1-litre pod, and when the pod is full you pull it out and put it in the rubbish. Six pods come in the box; after that they are a consumable you buy, made from recycled material. For anyone with allergies, or a kitchen bin two metres from the sofa, that is the whole argument.
Numatic’s figures — given, it says, with the brush head off — are 3.2 kg, 60 minutes on low and 16 on high, 150 minutes to a full charge, a 25.2 V battery that detaches and charges on or off the machine (a spare is sold separately, and Which? ranks Numatic’s the cheapest to replace), 122 cm tall, and a wall dock in the box that you can ignore because the battery charges anywhere. The guarantee is three years, with a fourth if you buy direct from Numatic and register.
What you give up: the pods cost money for the life of the machine, and 16 minutes on high is short for carpet throughout. What you get is the largest capacity here and the cleanest emptying, plus the brand whose corded Henry many readers are replacing.
Strengths
- 1 L pod, the biggest capacity here, and emptying is binning a sealed pod — no dust cloud
- Detachable battery charges off the machine; 60 minutes on low
- 3-year guarantee (4 direct), Numatic spares are the cheapest in Which?'s ranking
Limitations
- Pods are a running cost — six in the box, then you buy more
- 16 minutes on high
- 3.2 kg is mid-pack, not light
Good for
- allergy sufferers who hate emptying a bin
- a small house with a landing to charge on
- Henry loyalists
Look elsewhere if
- anyone who wants zero consumables
- a bathroom-cupboard budget that has to stretch to pods
Shark Stratos — for pet hair and stairs
for pet hair and stairs
Shark Stratos (IZ400UK)

- Weight
- 4.1 kg
- Run time
- 60 min
- Charge time
- 3.5 h
- Bin
- Not stated by Shark†
- Charging / storage
- Not stated on Shark's page; Flexology wand folds for storage†
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The Shark is the pet-hair machine. Its Anti Hair Wrap Plus brush roll is designed to remove long hair and pet hair from itself as it turns — the job that otherwise needs scissors every fortnight — and the Flexology wand bends so the head reaches under a bed and then folds so the whole vacuum stands in a cupboard. It converts to a handheld for stairs and upholstery, and Shark’s guarantee is the longest here: five years on registration, two for the battery.
Shark quotes 60 minutes in eco with a non-motorised tool, a 3.5-hour charge, a 309 W motor and a 25.9 cm cleaning path. Its page for this machine does not state the bin size or describe a dock, and the dimensions it prints (70 cm tall) are plainly the folded size, so we leave those out. The Amazon listing is the IZ400UK; Shark’s live specification page is for the single-battery Pet Pro IZ400UKT — the same vacuum with a pet tool added.
The reason it is last on weight is the reason it is here: 4.1 kg, more than a kilo heavier than anything else in the list. For a house with a dog and carpeted stairs that is a fair price for a brush that cleans itself. For a studio flat it is the wrong vacuum.
Strengths
- Self-cleaning brush roll built for long hair and pet hair
- 60 minutes in eco; five-year guarantee on registration
- Wand folds to stand in a cupboard
Limitations
- 4.1 kg — the heaviest here by more than a kilo
- Shark's page does not state the bin size or the dock
- The Amazon ASIN is the non-Pet IZ400UK; Shark's spec page is for the Pet Pro IZ400UKT
Good for
- a pet that sheds
- carpeted rooms and stairs (it converts to a handheld)
- someone who wants the longest guarantee
Look elsewhere if
- anyone who found a 3 kg stick heavy
- a studio flat
Dyson V8 Advanced — for the Dyson habit at the lowest weight
for the Dyson habit at the lowest weight
Dyson V8 Advanced

- Weight
- 2.54 kg†
- Run time
- 40 min†
- Charge time
- 5 h†
- Charging / storage
- Wall docking station in the box†
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The V8 Advanced is the entry point to the brand most readers already know, and everything we can say about it comes with a caveat: Dyson’s own website refused every automated visit we made, so the figures below are from John Lewis’s product page and are marked as awaiting confirmation. They are: 2.54 kg, up to 40 minutes with a non-motorised tool, a 300-minute charge, 130 air watts in Max mode, a 21.6 V battery, 125.6 cm tall, a fully sealed filtration system Dyson rates at 99.99 % of particles down to 0.3 microns, a de-tangling Motorbar cleaner head, and a wall docking station, charger, combination tool and crevice tool in the box. Two-year guarantee — the shortest in this group.
The case for it is weight and familiarity: at 2.54 kg it is within 60 g of the Hoover, the bin empties with Dyson’s point-and-shoot lever, and the dock, tools and habits are the ones a V6 or V7 owner already has. The case against, in a flat, is the dock — Dyson gives you a wall mount and nothing to stand it on, so a renter buys a third-party stand or leans it in a corner — and five hours to charge for 40 minutes of run time.
If the brand is the point, it is the lightest way in. If it is not, the Hoover gives the same weight with a shorter charge, and the Samsung the same weight with a floor stand.
Strengths
- 2.54 kg and a de-tangling brush bar in the lightest Dyson
- Fully sealed filtration; the dock and tools are in the box
- The brand most readers already know how to live with
Limitations
- Two-year guarantee — the shortest here
- Five hours to charge; Dyson's own site would not give us the specification
- Wall dock first: you drill, or buy a stand
Good for
- a small flat with hard floors and a rug
- someone replacing an older Dyson and keeping the habits
- quick daily passes rather than one long clean
Look elsewhere if
- renters who cannot drill and do not want a separate stand
- a long-haired dog and deep carpet on Max for long
How to choose
Five questions, in the order they usually decide it.
- Where will it charge? No drilling: Samsung (floor stand), Bosch (Quick Stand), Hoover (parks upright), Henry (battery comes off). Wall dock first: Dyson. Not stated: Shark.
- How heavy can you hold at arm’s length? Under 2.6 kg: Hoover, Dyson, Samsung. Around 3 kg: Bosch as used, Henry. Over 4 kg: Shark.
- How do you feel about emptying? Sealed pods you throw away: Henry. Washable bin and filter: Samsung. Knob-cleaned filter, never washed: Bosch. Small bin, emptied every time: Hoover.
- Pet? Self-cleaning brush: Shark. Anti-tangle brush: Hoover, Dyson. Pet tool in the box: Samsung.
- Year four. Swappable battery you can buy: Bosch (shared with tools), Henry, Hoover; Dyson sells spares; Samsung’s are the dearest in Which?’s ranking.
Suction figures come last, because the makers quote them in different units (watts, air watts, kPa) or not at all, and because in a flat every one of these lifts crumbs off laminate.
Who should not buy a cordless stick
A three-bedroom house with carpet throughout and a dog will run any of these flat before it is finished — the corded Henry, or a stick with a second battery (the Bosch, the Henry Quick), is the honest answer. If stairs are the whole problem and you never vacuum upholstery, an upright such as the Gtech AirRAM is lighter in the hand than any stick here, but it does not convert to a handheld. And if the floor is all hard and the flat is small, a robot vacuum on a schedule plus a handheld for crumbs does the daily job without you — a separate comparison.
Which one, by situation
- A one-bedroom flat, no drilling, hard floors: Hoover HF500 or Samsung Jet 75E — the Hoover for weight, the Samsung for the floor stand and the bigger bin.
- Allergies, or you hate emptying a bin: Henry Quick, and budget for pods.
- You own Bosch cordless tools, or you want two batteries: Bosch Unlimited 7.
- A dog, carpet and stairs: Shark Stratos, if 4.1 kg is acceptable.
- You are replacing a Dyson and want the same dock and tools: Dyson V8 Advanced.
- Noise matters — thin walls, a home office: Bosch (82 dB(A)); avoid the Samsung (86).
Sources
Facts checked 23 September 2026
- Which? — 'Why we got tough on cordless vacuum battery life' — Press material, checked 23 September 2026
- Hoover — HF500 cordless vacuum HF522STH 001 (product code 39400982) product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Hoover) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- Samsung UK — Jet 75E Pet VS20B75AGR1/EU specifications — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Samsung) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- Bosch Home UK — Unlimited 7 BCS711GB product page and spec sheet (media3.bsh-group.com/Documents/specsheet/en-GB/BCS711GB.pdf) — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Bosch) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- Numatic — Henry Quick HEN.100 product page (range page myhenry.com/new-quick, battery page myhenry.com/quick-battery) — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Henry) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- Shark UK — Stratos Anti Hair Wrap Plus Pet Pro cordless vacuum IZ400UKT (single battery) product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Shark) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- John Lewis — Dyson V8 Advanced (492637-01) product page; dyson.co.uk blocks automated fetches — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Dyson) — Retailer listing, checked 23 September 2026
How long does a cordless vacuum really run?
Less than the box says. Every run-time figure in this article is the maker's own and, where they say so, it is measured on the lowest power setting with a non-motorised tool: Samsung quotes 60 minutes on minimum power and 10 to 15 in high; Henry quotes 60 low and 16 high; Hoover 45 in Auto and 10 in Turbo. Which? measured maximum-power run times of 7 to 35 minutes across cordless vacuums and reckons an average UK home needs about 42 minutes of continuous cleaning. A flat is not an average home — 10 to 15 minutes at full power covers most of one.
Do I have to drill a wall to charge it?
Not for most of these. The Samsung's station stands on the floor or hangs on the wall; the Bosch has a Quick Stand and a docking station; the Hoover parks upright and the wall mount is optional; the Henry Quick's battery detaches and charges anywhere; the Shark's wand folds so it stands in a cupboard, though Shark does not describe a dock. The Dyson comes with a wall docking station and nothing else — renters buy a freestanding stand or lean it.
How heavy is too heavy?
Which? puts the average cordless stick at around 3 kg. In practice the weight you feel is the weight of the whole machine held at arm's length for the skirting board and lifted for the stairs, so the difference between 2.5 kg (Hoover, Dyson, Samsung) and 4.1 kg (Shark) is the difference between one hand and two. If you have a shoulder or wrist that complains, stay under 3 kg.
Can I replace the battery when it fades?
Which? found roughly a third of capacity gone after about 500 charge cycles, so plan for it. The Bosch uses an 18 V Power for All pack shared with Bosch's garden and DIY tools; the Henry Quick and Hoover HF500 have detachable packs sold as spares; Dyson sells V8 replacement batteries; Samsung's spares are the dearest in Which?'s ranking and Shark's are sold for the Stratos range. Check the price of a spare before you buy the vacuum.