Shortlist · Home office · 6 models
Laptop stands for working from home: portable, fixed and adjustable, and which one gets the screen to eye level
The HSE's advice for screen work is one line long — top of the screen level with your eyes, about an arm's length away — and a laptop on a desk fails it by 15 to 25 centimetres. A stand fixes that, but only with a separate keyboard, and only if it lifts high enough. Six stands compared on how high they go, how they adjust, what they weigh and whether they fold into a bag.



Quick answer
- FoldingportableThe bagNexstand K2 — 234 g, folds to a 36 cm baton, eight heights from 14 to 29 cm.
- Adjustable, foldsflatThe highest lift that still foldsTwelve South Curve Flex — up to 27.4 cm, folds to 3 cm, 794 g.
- FixedriserA fixed desk, onceRain Design mStand — one bent sheet of aluminium, 15 cm, nothing to adjust.
- Adjustable Z-type,foldsA heavy laptop on a permanent deskBoYata — wide Z-type aluminium platform with hooks and pads, 20 kg rated.
- Adjustable riser on two rods; foldsflatAluminium on a budgetUGREEN Dual Rod — aluminium, folds flat, two-year warranty, few published numbers.
- Folding portable with fold-out frontlegsThe longest warranty and a stiff-hinged laptopFellowes Laptop Quick Lift — eight angles, 0.56 kg plastic, five-year warranty.
The six at a glance
| Model | Type | Highest height | Weight | Weight | Warranty | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nexstand K2for the bag | Folding portable | 29 cm | 234 g | No confirmed data | 1 years | View listing |
| Twelve South Curve Flexfor the highest lift that still folds | Adjustable, folds flat | 27.4 cm | 794 g | No confirmed data | 1 years | View listing |
| Rain Design mStandfor a fixed desk, once | Fixed riser | No confirmed data | No confirmed data | 1.46 kg | 1 years | View listing |
| BoYata adjustable laptop standfor a heavy laptop on a permanent desk | Adjustable Z-type, folds | No confirmed data | No confirmed data | 1.3 kg† | No confirmed data | View listing |
| UGREEN Dual Rod laptop riserfor aluminium on a budget | Adjustable riser on two rods; folds flat | Not stated by UGREEN† | No confirmed data | 1.6 kg† | 2 years | View listing |
| Fellowes I-Spire Laptop Quick Liftfor the longest warranty and a laptop with a stiff hinge | Folding portable with fold-out front legs | No confirmed data | No confirmed data | 0.56 kg | 5 years | View listing |
Scroll sideways to see every column
† Figure from a retailer listing or otherwise awaiting confirmation from the manufacturer; other figures come from manufacturer manuals and leaflets.
Height is the number the makers are least consistent about. Nexstand and Twelve South state a range; Rain Design states one fixed height; Fellowes states angles but no height; UGREEN and BoYata state nothing useful on their own pages, so the range for the BoYata comes from a table on the brand’s site that does not name the model and is marked as pending, and UGREEN’s is left empty. Weights are the makers’ except where marked.
The one rule that decides everything
The HSE’s guidance on display screen equipment reduces to a sentence: top of the screen level with your eyes, about an arm’s length away, keyboard and mouse separate from the laptop so the screen can be raised on a riser. Everything below follows from it. A stand that lifts the laptop 5 cm and tilts the keyboard is a typing wedge, not a screen riser; a stand that lifts it 20 cm makes the laptop’s own keyboard unusable and assumes you have another one. So the first question is not which stand but whether you will buy a keyboard. If yes, choose a stand by height. If no, the honest answer is the Fellowes, which is designed to tilt a laptop you still type on.
Nexstand K2 — for the bag
for the bag
Nexstand K2

- Type
- Folding portable
- Highest height
- 29 cm
- Weight
- 234 g
- Warranty
- 1 years
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The K2 is the stand for a desk that is not always the same desk. Folded it is a 36 × 3.8 × 3.8 cm baton weighing 234 g — lighter than most phone chargers — and it lives in the laptop sleeve. Opened, it is an X-frame of fibre-glass-reinforced nylon with eight height positions from 14 to 29 cm, the highest maximum of any stand here, rated by Nexstand for 9 kg and for laptops from 10 to 17 inches with a front edge under 2 cm thick.
The design is open, so air moves around the laptop, and the feet and grips are rubber; Nexstand includes spacers for very thin laptops and a nylon sleeve. The warranty is one year. The Amazon listing rounds the figures — 15 to 30 cm, a 2.2 cm edge — and we use Nexstand’s own.
What you trade for the weight is rigidity: a nylon X-frame flexes more than a metal riser when you prod the screen, and a thick gaming laptop with a chunky front edge will not sit in the grips. For a laptop that goes to the office on Tuesday and the kitchen table on Wednesday, with a folding keyboard in the same bag, nothing else here comes close.
Strengths
- 234 g and 36 × 3.8 × 3.8 cm folded — it lives in the laptop bag
- Eight heights from 14 to 29 cm; 9 kg load
- Open frame keeps air around the laptop
Limitations
- Nylon, not metal — flexes more than a riser
- Needs a laptop with a front edge under 2 cm
- 1-year warranty
Good for
- a desk that is cleared at dinner
- commuting between two desks
- anyone who wants the screen at eye level for the price of nothing on the desk
Look elsewhere if
- a permanent desk where looks matter
- thick gaming laptops
Twelve South Curve Flex — for the highest lift that still folds
for the highest lift that still folds
Twelve South Curve Flex

- Type
- Adjustable, folds flat
- Highest height
- 27.4 cm
- Weight
- 794 g
- Warranty
- 1 years
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The Curve Flex does what the mStand does and then folds. Two hinged arms raise the laptop to a maximum of 27.4 cm — Twelve South says the screen and camera go up to 22 inches from the desk — and tilt the base from 0 to 45 degrees, continuously rather than in steps; folded, it is 3 cm thick and 26.4 × 22.4 cm, and it comes with a neoprene sleeve and a hex tool for the hinges. Weight is 1.75 lb, about 794 g. It fits any laptop at least 8.66 inches wide and up to 7 lb (3.2 kg); the Amazon listing puts that as 10 to 17 inches.
Twelve South does not name the material on its own page; the listing says an aluminium frame with textured silicone along the arms, which matches the photographs. The warranty is one year, and the listing was temporarily out of stock when we checked.
This is the stand for a tall sitter or a standing-desk user who needs more than 15 cm of lift and does not want a permanent object on the desk, and for someone who moves between two desks and wants the same setup at both. At 794 g it is three and a half Nexstands in the bag — the price of hinges that hold a MacBook Pro steady at full height.
Strengths
- 27.4 cm maximum height — screen at eye level for tall sitters
- Folds to 30 mm with a travel sleeve
- Continuous height and angle adjustment
Limitations
- 794 g — heavier than the Nexstand in the bag
- Twelve South does not state the material or a laptop size in inches
- 1-year warranty
Good for
- someone who moves between a home desk and an office
- a tall sitter who needs more than 15 cm of lift
- standing-desk users
Look elsewhere if
- the lightest possible bag
- a fixed desk where the mStand's simplicity is enough
Rain Design mStand — for a fixed desk, once
for a fixed desk, once
Rain Design mStand

- Type
- Fixed riser
- Weight
- 1.46 kg
- Warranty
- 1 years
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The mStand is a single sheet of 2.5 mm anodised aluminium bent into a C: 25.3 cm wide, 15 cm high, 19 cm deep, 1.46 kg. There are no hinges, no settings and no adjustment, and that is its case. The laptop sits on a padded shelf tilted toward you with a 2-inch hole at the back for the cable, the aluminium body conducts heat away, and the open back lets air through. Rain Design says it fits all MacBooks and most notebooks including the 16-inch MacBook Pro, and sells it in six colours to match them. The warranty is one year.
The 15 cm lift is right for an average-height adult with a 14- to 16-inch laptop at a 72–75 cm desk. If you are tall, or the laptop is a 13-inch, the screen top will still be below your eyes and there is nothing to be done about it except books. If it is right, it stays right, and the mStand is the stand you stop noticing — which, for something that sits in front of you eight hours a day, is the highest compliment.
Not for travel, obviously, and not for anyone whose desk is shared with a shorter or taller person.
Strengths
- One piece of aluminium; nothing to adjust, loosen or break
- Cable hole and heat-sink body
- Six colours to match a MacBook
Limitations
- One height (15 cm) — right for many desks, wrong for tall or short sitters
- 1.46 kg and 25 × 19 cm — it stays put
- 1-year warranty
Good for
- a permanent desk with an external keyboard
- someone who wants the laptop to look like a monitor
Look elsewhere if
- anyone who needs to adjust height
- travel
BoYata adjustable stand — for a heavy laptop on a permanent desk
for a heavy laptop on a permanent desk
BoYata adjustable laptop stand

- Type
- Adjustable Z-type, folds
- Weight
- 1.3 kg†
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The BoYata is the wide Z: a large aluminium platform with an airflow cut-out, four silicone pads and two hooks at the front lip so the laptop cannot slide, on two hinged arms over a flat base. The brand rates the design for laptops up to 17 inches and, on its N21 page, for 20 kg; the Amazon listing gives an adjustment range of 0 to 90 degrees and says it folds. BoYata’s site puts the optimal working angle at 30 degrees.
The caveat is the paperwork. BoYata’s own pages do not tie a height range or a weight to this exact listing: a comparison table on its N19 page gives 5 to 26 cm and 1.3 kg for stands of this type, and the Amazon listing for the N19 says 1.18 kg, so both figures are marked as pending. The warranty is 12 months according to the listing. Note also that boyata.com is not the brand’s website — iboyata.com is.
What you get is the most platform for the least money among the metal stands: a heavy laptop with a big footprint sits on it without overhang, and the hooks mean it stays there at steep angles. It is a desk fixture at around 1.3 kg, not a travel stand.
Strengths
- Large platform, hooks and pads hold a 17-inch laptop
- Adjusts through a wide range and folds
- Aluminium body acts as a heat sink
Limitations
- BoYata's site does not tie height range or weight to this exact model
- Around 1.3 kg — a desk fixture
- 12-month warranty per the listing
Good for
- a permanent desk with an external keyboard
- a heavy laptop
Look elsewhere if
- a bag
- a buyer who wants an exact spec sheet
UGREEN Dual Rod riser — for aluminium on a budget
for aluminium on a budget
UGREEN Dual Rod laptop riser

- Type
- Adjustable riser on two rods; folds flat
- Highest height
- Not stated by UGREEN†
- Weight
- 1.6 kg†
- Warranty
- 2 years
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
UGREEN’s riser is an all-aluminium platform with a slotted face for airflow and silicone padding, on two rods rising from a wide flat base, folding flat when not in use. It fits laptops and tablets up to 17.3 inches, and UGREEN’s two-year warranty applies. That is the whole of what UGREEN states.
What it does not state — on its own UK page — is the height range, the number of positions, the load or the weight. The Amazon listing gives 25 × 20.8 × 4.5 cm folded and 1.6 kg, which we record as pending, and describes airflow holes and dual support rods, which is how we matched the listing to UGREEN’s SKU 15925 (UGREEN uses five-digit item numbers; the LP codes seen on some retailer sites are not on its pages).
It is here because it is the metal stand people actually buy when the BoYata and the mStand look expensive, and because the two-year warranty is the longest of the metal adjustables. Buy it knowing the specification is thin; if the height range matters to you, the Nexstand and the Curve Flex publish theirs.
Strengths
- Aluminium, wide base, folds flat
- Fits laptops up to 17.3 in
- Two-year warranty
Limitations
- UGREEN states no height range, load or weight — the 1.6 kg and 25 × 20.8 × 4.5 cm come from the listing
- Heavier than the folding portables
- Silicone padding but no front lip described
Good for
- a fixed desk with an external keyboard
- someone who wants metal for the price of plastic
Look elsewhere if
- travel
- a buyer who wants the numbers in writing
Fellowes I-Spire Laptop Quick Lift — for the longest warranty and a stiff-hinged laptop
for the longest warranty and a laptop with a stiff hinge
Fellowes I-Spire Laptop Quick Lift

- Type
- Folding portable with fold-out front legs
- Weight
- 0.56 kg
- Warranty
- 5 years
Check price on Amazon.co.uk
The Fellowes is a different object from the others: a flat plastic lift with fold-out front legs that tilts a laptop through eight angles, holds it with a soft-touch front ledge, and folds to 4.8 cm for a bag at 0.56 kg. Fellowes rates it for laptops up to 17 inches and 4 kg (a feature bullet says 4.5 kg), recommends using it with an external keyboard and mouse, and backs it with a five-year limited warranty — five times the metal stands’ one year. It was tested by FIRA International against EN ISO 9241-5, the office-ergonomics standard, in 2021; that certificate lapsed in 2024, so it is a stand that was tested, not one that is currently certified.
Fellowes does not state a height range, because the Quick Lift tilts more than it lifts: it raises the back of the laptop and angles the screen, which suits a laptop with a limited hinge opening and a user who still types on the laptop keyboard. It will not bring a screen to eye level on its own. The Amazon title says seven heights; Fellowes UK says eight.
If the desk is an office-style setup and the priority is a long warranty and a flat-folding lift for meetings, this is the one. If the priority is the HSE’s eye-level rule, look up the list.
Strengths
- Five-year warranty — the longest here
- Folds to 4.8 cm and weighs 0.56 kg
- Eight angles; FIRA-tested for DSE workstations
Limitations
- Tilts more than it lifts — no stated height range
- Plastic; Fellowes' load figure is 4 or 4.5 kg depending on where you read
- The FIRA certificate lapsed in 2024
Good for
- an office-style home desk
- a laptop with a limited hinge angle
- someone who values a long warranty
Look elsewhere if
- raising a screen to eye level on its own
- gaming laptops over 4 kg
How to choose
- Keyboard first. No external keyboard: the Fellowes tilt, and accept that the screen stays low. External keyboard: any of the other five.
- How high? Average sitter, 14–16-inch laptop: 15 cm (mStand) is usually right. Tall sitter, 13-inch laptop or standing desk: 25 cm or more (Nexstand 29, Curve Flex 27.4).
- Does it travel? Yes, every day: Nexstand (234 g). Yes, sometimes: Curve Flex (794 g) or Fellowes (560 g). No: mStand, BoYata, UGREEN.
- How heavy is the laptop? A 16-inch or a gaming machine wants the BoYata’s platform and hooks or the Curve Flex’s 3.2 kg rating; the Nexstand’s grips want a thin front edge.
- Warranty. Fellowes five years, UGREEN two, the rest one.
Who should not buy a laptop stand
If you already use a monitor as the main screen, the fix for your neck is a monitor arm or riser, not a laptop stand — the laptop becomes a second screen and can sit low. If you type on the laptop’s own keyboard and will not change that, a stand that lifts the screen to eye level makes typing worse; use the Fellowes-style tilt or nothing. And if the desk is a sofa or a bed, no stand helps; the problem is the desk.
Which one, by situation
- Two desks, one bag, a folding keyboard: Nexstand K2.
- Tall, or a standing desk, or a 13-inch screen: Twelve South Curve Flex.
- One desk, one laptop, average height, done: Rain Design mStand.
- A 16-inch workstation laptop that must not slide: BoYata.
- Metal, a two-year warranty, and no interest in spec sheets: UGREEN Dual Rod.
- Typing on the laptop, a five-year warranty, folds for meetings: Fellowes Laptop Quick Lift.
Sources
Facts checked 24 September 2026
- HSE — Display screen equipment: good posture — Standard or regulation, checked 24 September 2026
- Nexstand — K2 laptop stand product page (brand store) — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (NEXSTAND) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
- Twelve South — Curve Flex product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Twelve South) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
- Rain Design — mStand product and support pages — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Rain Design) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
- BoYata (iboyata.com) — N19 and N21 adjustable Z-type laptop stand pages — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (BoYata) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
- UGREEN UK — Aluminium Adjustable Foldable Dual Rod Laptop Stand (SKU 15925) product page — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (UGREEN) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
- Fellowes UK — I-Spire Series Laptop Quick Lift (8212001 black / 8210101 white) product page and FIRA certificate — Manufacturer documentation, checked 24 September 2026
- Amazon.co.uk listing (Fellowes) — Retailer listing, checked 24 September 2026
Is a laptop stand better for posture?
It is the only way to meet the HSE's display screen equipment advice with a laptop: the top of the screen level with your eyes, about an arm's length away, with the keyboard and mouse separate so the screen can be raised on a riser. A stand on its own does not do it — you cannot type on a keyboard that is 20 cm in the air — so the purchase is a stand plus an external keyboard and mouse. Fellowes says the same on its own product page.
How high does the stand need to go?
It depends on your sitting height and the laptop. For most adults at a standard 72–75 cm desk, the top of a laptop screen needs to come up by roughly 15 to 25 cm. A fixed 15 cm riser like the mStand suits an average sitter with a 14- or 16-inch screen; a tall sitter, a small 13-inch screen or a standing desk wants an adjustable stand that reaches 25 cm or more — the Nexstand's 29 cm or the Curve Flex's 27.4 cm.
Do stands help with overheating?
They help with airflow, which is not the same thing. Every maker here claims it: Rain Design and BoYata say aluminium acts as a heat sink, Nexstand and Twelve South point to the open frame, UGREEN to slots, Fellowes to increased air circulation. A raised laptop with air underneath runs cooler than one flat on a desk; none of these replaces a laptop's own fan or cures a hot machine.
Fixed or adjustable?
Fixed (mStand) if one person uses one laptop at one desk and the height happens to be right — it is simpler, quieter and there is nothing to loosen. Adjustable if the height is wrong, if two people share the desk, if you alternate sitting and standing, or if the stand travels. Folding adjustable stands (Nexstand, Curve Flex, Fellowes) give up some rigidity for the bag.